Acts confirmed for the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest

Adrian Kavanagh, 31st December 2013

The 2014 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to take place in Copenhagen, Denmark, between 6th and 10th May 2014, but with a number of countries withdrawing from the 2014 contest the number of participants could well be the lowest since the semi-final system was introduced in 2004. Cyprus, Croatia, Serbia and Bulgaria are withdrawing from the 2014 contest. However Poland (missing since the 2011 contest) and Portugal (who did not take part last year) are returning, meaning that 37 countries will be taking part in this year’s event.

The acts – artists (and songs) – that have been selected by the different participating countries (and the semi-final allocations) is a follows:

Country Artist  Song Comment
FRANCE Twin Twin Moustache Finalist – Big 5
GERMANY Elaiza Is it Right? Finalist – Big 5
ITALY Emma Marrone La Mia Città Finalist – Big 5
SPAIN Ruth Lorenzo Dancing In The Rain  Finalist – Big 5
UNITED KINGDOM Molly Smitten-Downes Children of the Universe Finalist – Big 5
DENMARK Basim Cliché Love Song Finalist – Hosts
ALBANIA Hersi (Herciana Matmuja) One Night’s Anger Semi Final 1
ARMENIA Aram Mp3 Not Alone Semi Final 1
AZERBAIJAN Dilara Kazimova Start A Fire Semi Final 1
BELGIUM Axel Hirsoux Mother Semi Final 1
ESTONIA Tanja Amazing Semi Final 1
HUNGARY András Kállay-Saunders Running Semi Final 1
ICELAND Pollapönk No Prejudice Semi Final 1
LATVIA Aarzemnieki Cake To Bake Semi Final 1
MOLDOVA Christina Scarlat Wild Soul Semi Final 1
MONTENEGRO Sergej Ćetković Moj Svijet  Semi Final 1
NETHERLANDS The Common Linnets Calm After The Storm Semi Final 1
PORTUGAL Suzy Quero Ser Tua Semi Final 1
RUSSIA Tolmachevy Sisters Shine Semi Final 1
SAN MARINO Valentina Monetta Maybe Semi Final 1
SWEDEN Sanna Nielsen Undo  Semi Final 1
UKRAINE Maria Yaremchuk Tick-Tock Semi Final 1
AUSTRIA Conchita Wurst Rise Like A Phoenix Semi Final 2
BELARUS TEO Cheesecake Semi Final 2
FINLAND Softengine Something Better Semi Final 2
FYR MACEDONIA Tijana Dapčević To The Sky Semi Final 2
GEORGIA The Shin and Mariko Ebralidze Three Minutes to Earth Semi Final 2
GREECE Freaky Fortune feat. Risky Kid Rise Up Semi Final 2
IRELAND Can-linn featuring Kasey Smith Heartbeat Semi Final 2
ISRAEL Mei Feingold Same Heart Semi Final 2
LITHUANIA Vilija Matačiūnaitė Attention Semi Final 2
MALTA Firelight Coming Home  Semi Final 2
NORWAY Carl Espen Silent Storm  Semi Final 2
POLAND Donatan and Cleo My Slowianie Semi Final 2
ROMANIA Paula Seling & Ovi Miracle  Semi Final 2
SLOVENIA Tinkara Kovač Spet/Round and Round Semi Final 2
SWITZERLAND Sebalter Hunter of Stars Semi Final 2

The reduced number of participants means that 16 countries will be taking part in  Semi Final 1 on 6th May 2014 and 15 countries will be taking part in Semi Final 2 on 8th May 2014. With ten countries to qualify from both of these semi finals, this significantly improves the different countries’ chances of making it to the final relative to the case in 2011 when 43 countries took part and the two semi-finals both involved nineteen countries or the case in 2007 when 28 countries took part in a stand-alone semi-final to compete for ten qualification berths.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: